From Inside (3)

The question I pose to myself is what is the life I am meant to live? Am I living it, and if not, why not. More important, what is the meaning of my life? To answer this question, I went deep within, into my heart. This really gets to the core question: “Why am I here? What is my purpose?” Hard to believe, here I sit, 65 years young, and I am still asking my self this question. The difference is that now I know how to find the answer….the answer lies within.

As you know, I am not a writer, I am a journeyer who is just beginning to discover who I am.  It has been a little over a year since Judy’s physical body has left, but somehow her presence has been greatly present and it is hard to believe how my life and awareness of this life has expanded. I am an ordinary person like you on the journey of experiencing life and the present moment in a way that opens and expands the consciousness of the love that we are.

When I go within, I know that the creator of all,  or the essence of all I am lives within me. My question then is ” What is the purpose of my life?” Should I focus on job? Wealth. Relationships? Family? The aha moment! Love….I am love, the essence of who I am is love. So, what does that really mean? How does my life change, or does it change? The challenge of course is to put all this into words….how does one place love into words…I will go in and give it my best expression.

When I dig deep, really deep within, here is what I see and hear. I need to see this world, this human experience with new eyes, I need to realize that I am energy, and this energy can make a difference. It can be used or not used. I need to realize that my essence, the energy of who I am can change the planet..for good or not good. I am not a scientist, I don’t have a good understanding of energy, all I really know is that it can make things move, it is a force…wow…energy can expand and become powerful. So, what do I do with this energy, how can I activate it, how will it change the planet, how will I be affected?

I believe the way I activate love into the world is by first loving myself. I need to truly love me. How can I love anything or any other divine being if I cannot love myself. So, I will go quietly within and focus on loving Phil Cannato, love the love that I am.

In thinking of loving myself,  I was greatly impacted recently by a quote by the Dalai Lama. When asked what surprised  him most about humanity, he answered…. Man.

“Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then he dies having never really lived”.

Wow! That impacted me. I’m sure Judy made sure that I came across that quote. So, loving myself is part of living life. It’s about stripping away all the junk and in this present moment, in this next breath, enjoying me, who I am. It’s about love (who I am). It’s about feeling the spirit that’s trapped in this body, being connected to mother earth and father sky. It’s about seeing each person brought into my life with new eyes, seeing the wonderment of each of them. It’s about the miracle of being in the present moment. It’s about allowing the energy of love that lies within to manifest itself, allowing it to blossom, to expand and become a force. It’s about taking this life we have and “really living life fully.”

I believe that if each of us can go within, the result will be we will love ourselves and by loving ourself, that energy of love will penetrate mankind and change the planet. But, it all begins by each of us going with in, into the deepest part of who we are and LOVING who we are.

Peace,

Phil

This entry was posted in Awakening, self inquiry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From Inside (3)

  1. Jana Minor says:

    Phil

    Very beautiful, true and challenging. Thank you for taking this journey and sharing it with us.

    Jana Minor

  2. Thank you, Phil, for sharing your journey to loving yourself & thus all else. I’m working on that now & Im 82 so years don’t matter. I’m reading & studying Richard Rohr’s book, THE NAKED NOW, Learning toSee as the Mystics .See.

    Louise Sandercock
    (a member of Judy’s Renewed Local Community) at CSJ.

  3. Janet Lehane says:

    Thank You Phil – Beautiful! This is really very helpful to me and I’m sure many others.

  4. Laurie says:

    Thank you Phil for sharing the fruits of your contemplation – how beautiful our world can be when we all begin to see it with the new eyes, with compassion for those we encounter in the day to day.

Leave a Reply

