Ch. 11 Manifesting A Field of Compassion

As I write this on November 26th, Thanksgiving has come and gone. In my family we added a new tradition for this holiday. We lifted up and gave honor to all those family members who have come before us, shared their life with us, and have passed on. It was a beautiful witness.

This was my first Thanksgiving without Judy’s physical presence, however her spiritual presence was with me and has been with me in many ways. The Field of Compassion to me is about the connectivity that is present within our souls and the entire creation. The “field” to me,  is taken from the mystic stance that we are all connected as one creation. The morphogenic field of love is composed not only of our current energy field that we add too, but also from all those that have come before us and helped to lay the groundwork for who we are and what we have become. Now the baton has been passed on to us. We can take the stance to sit back and let things happen or take an active role by co-creating in concert with the  Holy Mystery. I believe we do this by connecting to the essence of who we are. But, before we can take the baton we must speak of love.

At the center of the “field” in my view is love. Judy says it so well, “God creates in order to give God’s self away in love”. She also writes, “We can glimpse the depth of love that fashions us, we can recognize where we came from, and we can respond by allowing love entry”. Allowing love entry is the difficult part.

Judy is asking me to receive the gift of love from all of you. She is telling me that in order to love, I must receive love. Why is this so difficult? Judy hits the nail on the head when she writes,” Receiving love brings us to a point of vulnerability. That is why it is so difficult”.  When we are able to receive love, love tells us who we are. For me, it is easier to run from love rather than to accept it. When I run, I am no longer vulnerable, and it keeps me from knowing the true essence of who I am . The ego has won out and love has lost. Judy, however, is asking me to be the receiver of love so that I can give love. She asks of me the question, how can I give what I have not received?

If I stop and think of all the people who have been in my life and have come into my life over the past months and who simply came to give love, it would be life changing. It has in fact been life changing. The “field” that Judy writes of is in fact love.  I believe in order for our evolving to manifest in a greater way, we must be willing to allow ourselves to be the receivers of love. We must look at the people who have entered our life and accept that we can open our heart to the vulnerability of being loved so we can become love. When we become love, the strength of that vibration reverberates through the entire planet. The love shines and radiates its  warmth.

The action for this week is to allow ourselves to become vulnerable, become aware of the love we are and effectively enhance the vibration of love over the universe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ch. 11 Manifesting A Field of Compassion

  1. Beautifully said, and reminds me of the words of a friend of mine, “I choose to run toward love.” The deepest truth is we can neither run from nor toward love, because it is the still point that we are. What happens is we are distracted by the Ego, from this still point truth of our being. Yet, as you say Phil, in learning to not run from vulnerability, to actually invite it in and receive anothers demonstration of loving kindness, then we are faced with our own inherent goodness. That in itself is a wake up call.

    In Awareness,

    Lori Ann

  2. PJ says:

    In connection to this post it has made me aware that I do not fear the vulnerability that receiving love allows us to experience but perhaps that I have always felt that maybe it was a selfish act to accept love from others. This chapter changed my perception and as Phil wrote what Judy questioned, how can I give what I have not received? It is not selfish to accept another’s love because we need it in order to share our own love.

    PJ

  3. Rose says:

    Thank you, Phil for your open and touching reflections this week and especially at this time of year when you are missing Judy so much. I love your choice of video this week—a magnificent message about our power to send healing light into the whole universe, with the lovely Enya’s inspiring music and words. As I watch the video I am reminded of John 1:5 GOD IS LIGHT……

  4. Phil, I am sure that you and your family were missing Judy very much this Thanksgiving. What a wonderful way to honor her and others gone before her. They are still with you and spirit and you can still receive their love. Lately, I have been wishing that I could talk to my parents (deceased) about family issues, but you have reminded me that I can still call on their love when I need it.

    This chapter and the post reminded me of the book I am reading, Evolutionary Enlightenment by Andrew Cohen. I was afraid it would be too difficult, but it is actually quite accessible and enlightening. I think the evolutionary impulse he speaks of is related to the field of compassion.

    • Phil Cannato says:

      Kim, Thanks for your comments. Earlier this year I heard an hour interview with Andres Cohen and Barbara Marx Hubbard. You can imagine how enlightening that was. I also plan to read that book, thanks for reminding me.

  5. Betty says:

    On Saturday I began three days of prayer with a shared experience of Advent Prayer that was based largely on the work of Barbara Marx Hubbard. I was not disappointed in my expectation to find this resonating with Field on Compassion, especially as I continued my own prayer using, among other things, Judy’s exercises for Ch 11. At one point I jotted down some words and phrases that all seemed to deal with the same thing; unfortunately, the WORDLE I produced won’t copy into this blog, but here are the words:
    EMERGENCE. Dream of unity and reconciliation New Universe Ego to Essence Love of power to Power of love Field of Compassion Wisdom of Accepted Tenderness
    I appreciate all your reflections above. Phil, yours is especially significant this week.

  6. Betty says:

    On Saturday I began three days of prayer with a shared experience of Advent Prayer that was based largely on the work of Barbara Marx Hubbard. I was not disappointed in my expectation to find this resonating with Field on Compassion, especially as I continued my own prayer using, among other things, Judy’s exercises for Ch 11.
    Some words and phrases I jotted down and fed into the WORDLE program are:
    EMERGENCE. Dream of unity and reconciliation New Universe Ego to Essence Love of power to Power of love Field of Compassion Wisdom of Accepted Tenderness

  7. Clare says:

    In dealing with my own sense of loss – missing two sons and husband who are only with me in spirit and the only living son choosing to remain estranged, I was reminded by a friend of the Communion of Saints. So I carry all four of these dear loved ones with me – along with other ancestors – and meditate on what gifts they give me through their lives. And those gifts sustain and enrich my life – great sense of humor from all four – in differing ways. Another gift – the compassion they have shown me and others at various times. Their sense of gratitude for many blessings received. I recall what my youngest son said following surgery to give him one of my kidneys. He said, “Mother, you have given me life three times.” When I questioned the number, he replied “Once when you gave birth to me, the second when you gave me a kidney – and the third and most valued, when you passed on to me the gift of faith (life everlasting). That was so consoling at the time of his death – then and now as I look forward to celebrating his life on his birthday next week. Daring to love makes one vulnerable indeed. But choosing not to love must be what they mean by the sin of despair. Yes, the gifts are numerous – the gift of life to live it to the fullest of one’s capabilities and graces is a great reminder during this time of Advent – waiting, always waiting – something ever new on the horizon. So I will continue to carry these treasures and take them out to examine them, rather than dwell on emptiness of physical barrenness.

Leave a Reply

